ARCHIPENDIUM von Architekten für Architekten

Emilio Tuñón Architects

Projects of Emilio Tuñón Architects


Emilio Tuñón Architects is an international architectural practice based in Madrid. Over two decades, Emilio Tuñón (1959), together with Luis Mansilla (1959-2012), have attracted critical acclaim and awards with built projects and competitions across Europe, North America and Asia.

The quality of their designs has been recognised with some of architecture’s highest awards in Europe, including the Mies Van der Rohe Award 2007 for the M.U.S.A.C, Museum of Contemporary Art in Leon, and the National Award of Spanish Architecture 2003 for the Auditorium in León. In 2014, Emilio Tuñón and Luis Mansilla have been awarded the Gold Medal of Merit in the Fine Arts by the Spanish Government.

The work of Emilio Tuñón, since 1992, is focused on cultural projects and includes many of the most prestigious and awarded museums of Spain. All of them are located in important historical contexts and show a very sensitive approach to the culture and climate of their place, taking special care of the existing environment and urban values.


Emilio Tuñón, Gold Medal of Merit in the Fine Arts from the Spanish Ministry of Culture 2014, is chair professor in the architectural design department of the Architecture School of Madrid, and has been visiting professor at several universities: Princeton University School of Architecture (2008, 2009, 2010), Harvard Graduate School of Design (2006), Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (2005), Barcelona International Architecture School (2001-2002), Frankfurt Städelschule (1997-1998), Architecture San Pablo CEU Fundation (2000-2001), Barcelona Architecture School (1999-2000), New Puerto Rico Architecture School (2000) and Navarra Architecture School (1999, 2011).

In 1992, Emilio Tuñón Alvarez (1959) and Luis M. Mansilla (1959-2012) established the architecture firm Emilio Tuñón and Luis M. Mansilla Arquitectos, a Madrid based office, dedicated to the confrontation of theory, and academic practice, with design and building activity. They have received the Mies van der Rohe Award 2007 and the Spanish Architecture Award 2003.
In 1993 they created the thought exchange cooperative CIRCO, for which they publish a bulletin of the same name. This bulletin has been awarded the following awards: FAD Award (2007), 3rd. Iberoamerican Architecture and Engineering Biennial Publication Prize (2002) and COAM Annual Prize for Cultural Initiatives Award (1995).

Emilio Tuñón has won the following architecture competitions: Two Residential Towers in Dubai (2013), Gastropavilion at ETH Zurich (2013), Wine Museum in Valladolid (2012), International Center of Visigothic Culture in Toledo(2010), Energy Dome in the Enviromental City in Soria (2008), C.I.C.C.M. International congress Center of Madrid (2007), Museum of Migrations in Algeciras (2007), Helga de Alvear Foundation (2005), Urban planning for Valbuena in Logroño (2004), Public Library in Calle de los Artistas in Madrid (2003), Museum of Cantabria (2002), Spanish Royal Collections Museum in Madrid (2002), San Fermines Museum in Pamplona (2001), Cultural Center in Brescia (2000), Castellón Fine Arts Museum (1998), Leon’s Concert Hall (1996), Madrid’s Regional Cultural Center (1995).

Emilio Tuñón built projects include: Town Hall Building in Lalin (2011), Hotel and Restaurant Atrio in Caceres (2010), Helga de Alvear Foundation in Cáceres (2010), Twin houses in Tarifa (2009), Pedro Barrié de la Maza Foundation in Vigo (2005), MUSAC the Museum of Contemporary Art in Castilla León (2004), Auditorium of León (2003), Regional Documentary Center of Madrid (2002), Castellón Fine Arts Museum (2000), Indoor Swiming-Pool in San Fernando de Henares (1998) and Archeological and Fine Arts Provintial Museum of Zamora (1996).

His work has been awarded the following prizes: Gold Medal of Merit in the Fine Arts (2014), Big Mat Award (2013), Award of the ibero-american Biennial 2012, FAD Award 2011, A PLUS AWARD 2011, AD Architectural Digest Award (2009), Mies van der Rohe Award (2007), FAD award (2007), Saloni Award (2007), VIA award (2006), Spanish Architecture Award (2003), FAD Award (2001), COACV Award (2000), Excellent Work Award (2000), Fundation Award (1997), Arquitecti Award (1996).